November 28, 2022

Dawson County Journal

Dawson County, Nebraska

Cross Country Season Begins For Lexington

The Lexington Cross Country team will begin the season Thursday KRVN’s Jayson Jorgensen spoke with coach Sam Jilka about the upcoming season. Lexington begins the season on Thursday at 5pm with the Minutemen Invitational at the Overton Country Club.

Class B Central 10 Conference

Outlook: The Minutemaids will be led by Juniors Susana Calmo and Maddy Armstrong
will be seeking to return to the state competition. The Minutemaids will be relying on new
leadership and need to continue to utilize past experience. The team will need to
rely on some newcomers to assist in the team development but have some promising
Returning Letterwinners:
Susana Calmo Junior: State Qualifier in 2021. Maddy Armstrong-Junior State Qualifier 2021
Yarely Simental-Sophomore-State Qualifier 2021 Yovana Contreras-Soph. State Qualifier ‘21
Minutemen: keep feeding the hunger core group successful track/summer season,


A more experienced and dedicated core group of runners are excitedly approaching the 2022 season coming off an effective spring track season and summer training period. Utilizing their 2021 Class B State Championship, the Minutemen want to continue to feed their hunger to see how they can improve their abilities and time results to support the team standards of excellence. Each season offers new opportunities and the boys will need to be hungry, yet patient, self-disciplined, and focused in the process while avoiding being seduced by success.

Talented runners are returning and include Ian Salazar, State Medalist (8 th ) in 2021 who had a tremendous track season by winning the Class B 1600 and 3200 races. He will be supported by up and coming Laz Adame, who also is coming off an outstanding track season in which he placed 8 th in the 1600). State Medalist in 2021 Senior Oscar Aguado continues to lead the team in leadership and performance. The key runners will be supported by past state medalists and/or qualifiers: Jayden Ureste, Kevin Parada and Miguel Cruz.

Returning Letterwinners:
Oscar Aguado Senior: State Qualifier ’21, State Medalist ’21 (7 th )
Jayden Ureste, Senior: State Qualifier, ’20, ’21, State Medalist ’21 (10 th )
Kevin Parada, Senior: State Qualifier ‘20
Laz Adame, Junior: State Qualifier ’20, 21
Miguel Cruz, Junior: State Qualifier, ’20, ’21, State Medalist ’21 (13 th )
Ian Salazar, Junior, State Qualifier ’21, State Medalist in ’21 (8 th )

Source: Regional Sports