Historic, mythical, beautiful. These three words describe an architectural gem located west of Munich, Germany that is the Nymphenburg Palace, a once-popular summer residence of Bavarian rulers.
In 1662, elector (ruler elected by the people) Ferdinand Maria of Bavaria offered land outside Munich to his Italian-born wife, Henriette Adelaide of Savoy, to commemorate the birth of the heir to the throne, Max Emanuel. In 1664, Italian architect Agostino Barelli started to construct a summer residence in the style of an Italian villa for the electress, and architect Henrico Zuccalli continued the project in 1673. Henriette Adelaide loved the building and called it her “Borgo delle Ninfe” (“castle of the nymphs”). Her son, Max Emanuel, extended the country estate in 1701, adding magnificent residential pavilions and side galleries. His successor, elector Karl Albrecht, extended Nymphenburg’s estate to what we see today….
Source: The Epoch Times